Just Another Manic Monday

Mondays are always hectic around here.  Trevor’s teacher comes at 9am.  And if you know me at all, you know I’m a perfectionist.  I don’t like having people at my house unless it’s neat and clean.  The biggest downfall of this whole Early Intervention thing might be the home visits, lol 🙂  Monday mornings have me running around like a chicken with my head cut off, getting Trevor up, making breakfast, and scrambling to do the “therapy clean” before his teacher arrives.  I definitely don’t get enough coffee in me on Monday mornings.

Trevor’s teacher is wonderful.  She always comes full of ideas and new ways to help him.  She listens to all of my concerns and answers any questions I may have.  And if she doesn’t know the answer she finds it out.  He had a different teacher when we started, but she did nothing for him.  I’m so glad that I requested a new teacher.  Moral of the story:  Mommy always knows best!  If you ever have concerns that your child is not getting the most out of their teacher/therapist/school/doctor, etc. speak up.  You’ll be happy you did.

Today one of the activities Trevor and Teacher Jen did was to paint a picture of a turkey.  Jen has these paint dobbers that are so cool.  They really help Trevor work on wrist rotation and I’m definitely going to be putting them on his Christmas list.  Maybe Santa will read this blog and bring him some 😉

The Turkey

After his teacher leaves, we go into Longview to the Sensory Room at Life Works.   The Sensory Room is an awesome place.  They have swings, a roller, a slide, balls, a balance board, and so much more.  It is a great place to work on PT, sensory integration, and best of all, to have fun!  Trevor loves going to “the gym” as I call it.  He is never bored and every week he decides a different piece of equipment is his favorite.  Last week he loved the roller.  Today he loved knocking the blocks over.

Knocking the Blocks Over

Recently we discovered that the boy who has the time slot after Trevor is one of his friends he made at the Progress Center.  So now his friend comes a little early and we stay a little late, so the boys can play together.  A third boy (also a friend from Progress Center) also comes some weeks.  It’s so neat to see them all play together.  Trevor loves his buddies!  And really, it’s great for me to be able to talk to other moms.  Sometimes being a mommy of a kiddo with developmental delays can be isolating.

After our busy Monday mornings I always hope Trev takes a nice long nap 🙂

One thought on “Just Another Manic Monday

  1. Jordan, I love your blogs already!!!! 🙂 You’re a natural! Thanks for sharing! I soooooo know what you mean about the home visits….I don’t miss THEM, I do however miss his teachers from Progress Center. It was a GREAT excuse for a thorough deep clean! hahaha! We have so much fun with you at the sensory room, so glad we discovered one another again! I’ve always adored your Trevor, he’s just soooo full of love and laughter!!! And Guy has a blast playing with his buddies as well! Keep up the blog, I look forward to your anecdotes and pictures!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

