Tasty Tuesday: Peppermint Bark

With Christmas less than 2 weeks away I was looking for a yummy recipe to make holiday gifts for all of Trevor’s teachers and therapists.  They work hard and are so helpful that I wanted to show my appreciation.  I found this recipe for peppermint bark and decided it would make a great gift.

What You Need:

  • 1 bag chocolate chips (I used a bag each of dark and white chocolate)
  • 5 candy canes, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract

How to Make It:

  1. Melt the chocolate chips according to package directions.
  2. Stir in the peppermint extract.
  3. Spread the melted chocolate onto a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper.
  4. Crush the candy canes (I put them in 2 Ziploc baggies and pounded them with an ice cream scoop.  Great therapy, BTW!)
  5. Sprinkle the crushed candy on top.
  6. Place in freezer for 5 minutes, or until hardened.
  7. Break into pieces.

Melted chocolate…yum!

Chocolate spread, candy canes sprinkled, and ready to go in the freezer:

The chocolate has hardened and it’s ready to be broken into bark:

All broken up and ready to be devoured, I mean boxed up and given away 🙂

Don’t forget about the white chocolate peppermint bark too:

I also made peanut butter bark by melting Reese’s peanut butter chips and sprinkling crushed Reese’s on top:

I boxed the bark up into those reusable plastic containers that lunch meat comes in.  I separated the layers of bark with more waxed paper.

And remember those Cinnamon Dough Ornaments we made?  Well I painted the backs of some of them with red acrylic paint and wrote thank you messages on them with silver pen for all 6 of the people on Trevor’s team that I wanted to thank (those are his PT, OT, SLP, teacher, swim teacher, and FRC).

Then I wrapped the boxed bark in plastic tissue paper (that Trevor picked out) and attached the cinnamon dough ornaments with ribbon.

Everyone loved their gifts and they were fairly simple to make.  The peppermint bark was so delicious.  I’m definitely going to make more so that we can enjoy some before the holidays are over!

Leave a Reply

