Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

I think one of the more difficult parts to having a child with extra needs is being their advocate.  They need you to stand up for them, even when it puts you in an awkward situation.  When Trevor first qualified for an Early Intervention teacher I was very unhappy with her service.  She cancelled all of the time and never really did anything with him.  Luckily I used to work at the same EI center Trevor goes to, and his FRC happens to be a friend of mine.  So I voiced my concerns to her and we were able to switch teachers.  It was simple and I never had to see that teacher again.  (It was also one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  His new teacher rocks!)

But now I’m back in that same situation, only this time there isn’t a go-between to do the dirty work for me.  Trevor currently receives OT services through a charitable organization in our state.  Our insurance is horrible and we have a very limited number of therapy sessions, so using this organization seemed like our only option.  However, he’s had this OT for over 6 months and he hasn’t made any real progress with his fine motor skills, adaptive skills or sensory issues.   Since we weren’t happy with this lack of progress we decided to test the waters and see about switching.  We had our first appointment with a different OT today and she is amazing.  She taught me more in the hour long session we had today than I’ve learned in 6 months with our other OT.  The only negative is that because this OT bills our insurance we will have fewer sessions with her than with our current OT.  But I really think today proved that one session with a great therapist beats ten sessions with a poor therapist.  I know in my heart we need to make the switch.  For Trevor’s sake I need to tell our old OT that we don’t need her services anymore, but this time around I’m going to have to tell this therapist myself.  I’m really not looking forward to this conversation.  I’m just not quite sure what to say!

Leave a Reply

