IEP Update

This post is a few days late, but I was under the weather for a little bit and am just now feeling well enough to sit down and write.  Trevor’s IEP meeting was on Monday.  I was a nervous wreck going into the meeting.  I had prepared myself to fight for certain accommodations for Trevor (namely 1-on-1 support on the playground and a Rifton chair for him to sit in at table time).  However I didn’t end up having to fight at all.  Not only that, but the accommodations I was nervous they’d deny were both brought up by Trevor’s school PT before I could even mention them.  The IEP team really seemed to have Trevor’s best interest in mind.  They’re even going to provide a visual schedule for him to help ease his anxiety over transitions and the unknown.  I was pleasantly surprised with how smoothly the meeting went.  I’m very hopeful that the school year will go great.  I’m still a little nervous about sending him off to school four mornings a week, but I’m much more at ease with the whole idea now.

2 thoughts on “IEP Update

  1. Yay! For a great IEP meeting!!! I’m anxious about sending my little guy to school as well but at the same time can’t wait to get him started! Does that make any sense? LOL

Leave a Reply

