Water Bead Sensory Bin

I’ve been wanting to do some water bead play with Trevor for awhile now.  I’ve seen other bloggers have a lot of fun with water beads and thought it would be a great sensory experience for Trevor.  We finally got around to playing with water beads and let me tell you, Trevor loved it!  I will definitely have to pick more up.

This is what the package looks like (you can find them in the floral section at Wal-Mart for two bucks):

I filled up his “water table” (aka a plastic storage bin) with water and added some aquatic toys and the water beads:

Unfortunately I didn’t read the package before I set this activity up for him.  Otherwise I would have discovered that it takes hours for the water beads to fully expand.  It’s not an instant thing!  Oh well, I guess we were able to do some work on the concept of little and big with him as a result of my mess-up:

He loved playing with the water beads, even though they started off so tiny:

After he woke up from his nap we went outside and played with them again.  You can see how much bigger they got after a few hours:

Checking out a fully hydrated water bead:

He really enjoyed squishing them up once they were fully hydrated (a great way to work on both fine motor and tactile sensory skills):

I used a colander and drained the water beads at night, then added them back to the water table the next day.  He got a few days out of the one pack of water beads before they got too damaged to play with.

4 thoughts on “Water Bead Sensory Bin

  1. I can’t get water beads where I live overseas, but wish I could. Looks like fun! I’ll have to think of something else squishy or slimy for my little guy. How long till school starts for Trevor?

    • Trevor has a preschool orientation on Sept. 10th and then he starts school on the 12th. Less than a month away – I can’t believe it! Sorry you can’t get water beads where you’re living. Do you know anyone in the States that can send you some?

      • We did the ice sensory bin today instead, inspired by your stars awhile back. It was so fun! Thanks for the great idea. I’ll have to ask my mom to send me some water beads.

Leave a Reply

