Third Birthday!

Trevor turned 3 years old yesterday.  Where did the time go?  Unbelievable!

Since he’s not a big fan of parties we took Trevor on a little weekend getaway for his birthday.  He had a great time at the Wildlife Safari, swimming, and playing with new toys.

I’m really glad we decided to take Trevor on this trip for his birthday (although road tripping in your 3rd trimester isn’t the easiest thing in the world).  Trevor did great for most of the trip because we were able to stick (albeit loosely) to his routine.  But the last day we had to deviate from the routine and we all definitely suffered the consequences.  I hate that as joyous as birthdays are supposed to be, and no matter how much we focus on all of the good and all of the progress, Trevor’s differences are only magnified.  I hate that celebrations like birthdays and holidays are robbed of a little happiness because they make us realize that he’s just not typical.  And I hate that on his birthday blog post I’m souring it with thoughts like this.  But sometimes stating the truth and not pretending everything is perfect is the only way to move forward.

And of course I still feel so thankful for this little guy.  He is amazing and I love him so much!  Three years ago I was truly blessed when I became his mama 🙂

2 thoughts on “Third Birthday!

  1. That’s exactly what I want to do, take a little trip for my son’s 3rd birthday in October. I’ll be 7 months at that point, am I crazy? 🙂 Travelling with him can be hit or miss… parties the same, and sometimes I wonder if it’s worth the effort. I’m glad you got to do something fun, those animals look amazing!

    • I don’t think you’re crazy because I’m in my 7th month now too and I’m glad we took the trip despite how uncomfortable it was for me. I had been feeling pretty well, but traveling really made me feel big and pregnant, lol! I hope you guys have a great trip if you end up going 🙂

Leave a Reply

