DIY Felt Board

image

This felt board was so easy to make (and cheap too!).  I bought a yard of blue felt at a fabric store for $2.99 and a sheet of blue foam board at Wal-Mart for a little over $2.  The project only cost about $6, and it could even be done for less.  I really only needed a half yard of the felt to cover the board and I know they have foam board at the Dollar Tree (so you could realistically end up spending only about $3 on this).

To make the felt board I ironed the blue felt then cut it to size, leaving a few inches of extra fabric on each side.  Then I grabbed my stapler and stapled the excess fabric to the back of the board, making sure to pull tight.  Then I mounted it to the wall and let Trevor have fun with it!

I bought several other colors of felt at the fabric store and plan on making a bunch of different scenes and objects for him to play with.  The first thing I made were felt hearts for Valentine’s Day.  More on that later…

5 thoughts on “DIY Felt Board

  1. Pingback: Under the Sea Felt Board Play | Motherhood And Other Adventures

  2. How did you mount the felt board to the wall? And was it pretty sturdy, meaning did it not move much when they used it. Thanks

    • Hi Jolene! I used those 3M strips and it works great. I also made another one of these felt boards recently and used hot glue in place of the staples to secure the felt and it has worked great. So whichever one works best for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

