Fabric Treasure Basket for Babies

image

I first saw the idea of creating Treasure Baskets on another blog, The Imagination Tree.  I fell in love with the idea of gathering up everyday objects for little ones to explore!  So now that Paige is 4 months old and reaching for everything I thought it would be a great time to create her first Treasure Basket.

All I did was grab a basket we had lying around the house (you could also use a storage bin or even a cardboard box, this idea is so adaptable) and filled it with different types of fabric.  I used washcloths, burp rags, kitchen towels, etc.  They were all of varying textures, sizes, and colors.  I chose to create a fabric basket first because Paige has been loving chewing on material lately.  It was fun to watch her explore the different materials and she definitely enjoyed it too 🙂

I also varied her positions as she explored the material so she could work on her gross motor skills too.  I sat her in her Bumbo and also lay her on both her back and tummy while giving her the different treasures.

I look forward to creating new Treasure Baskets as she grows!

Leave a Reply

