Fall Sensory Bin With Pumpkin Pie Scented Rice

20130928-201524.jpg

I think I’m in love. This sensory bin is awesome. It smells just like Fall when you’re playing in it. Oh yeah, and Trevor loves it too 🙂 I’ve seen the idea of scenting sensory bins floating around Pinterest, but I finally got around to doing it this year. It is so easy to do too. I dyed the rice orange by adding in the usual food coloring and rubbing alcohol combo, but I also shook in a bunch of Pumpkin Pie Spice during the mixing process. The added sensory experience of smell is simply fabulous. It is extra calming for Trevor for sure. He is engaging with this bin so much more than usual. We’ve played with it every night this week! I will definitely be adding scents to more of our sensory play activities from now on.

20130928-202134.jpg

Leave a Reply

