DIY Outdoor Reading Den for Kids

My kids love books and they love being outside, so I thought, “Why not combine the two?”  Given their fair skin we tend to play in the shade, so I decided to make them a cozy little outdoor hideaway where we could snuggle up and enjoy a few books.  The best part?  You can make it with items found at the Dollar Tree!  I love me a good frugal DIY project 🙂

All you need is a hula hoop, a shower curtain, and a pack of shower curtain rings.  For $3 and in only a few minutes you have a fun, inviting outdoor getaway spot!

PicMonkey Collage 2

First you hook the shower curtain to the hula hoop using the rings.  Once every ring has been used, tie the two rings from each end together with some garden twine (or yarn, string, ribbon, whatever you have laying around) to keep the top secure.  I then used the same garden twine to tie the hula hoop down from a tree branch.  Add in a few pillows and a comfy quilt and you have a spot that is begging to be lounged around in.

20140515_233518000_iOS 20140516_002019690_iOS 20140520_000922166_iOS

Both of my kids loved this!  I couldn’t believe how much my daughter enjoyed the spot too, given that she’s always on the go and usually wanders around after a book or two.  The first time my kids saw this we sat and read books for over an hour!  My kids never attend to one task for that long.

Even our puppy wanted to come play in it!

This is a definite must-do activity to add to that Summer Bucket List!  What are your favorite fun and frugal outdoor activities for kids?

4 thoughts on “DIY Outdoor Reading Den for Kids

  1. I love this idea! My kids would really love a little spot outdoors to read. Pinning.

    Thank you for stopping by the Thoughtful Spot Weekly Blog Hop this week. We hope to see you drop by our neck of the woods next week!

Leave a comment